Personal tools

You are here: Home / Do Research / Subject Guides / Genealogy

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories

National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians

A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.

The link address is: http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/index.html

National Archives: State Archives

Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006

The link address is: http://www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/state-archives.html

Cyndi’s List

A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)

The link address is: http://www.cyndislist.com/

Repository of Primary Sources

A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

The link address is: http://webpages.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html

Iowa Genealogical Society

IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.

The link address is: http://shop.iowapioneers.com/main.sc;jsessionid=8DA2ADCCCE8D8771FF2C7AF0CA7F4014.m1plqscsfapp02

State Historical Society of Iowa

A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.

The link address is: http://www.state.ia.us/iowahistory/

Society of American Archivists

Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.

The link address is: http://www.archivists.org/assoc-orgs/index.asp